Chakra Meditation: Balancing Your Seven Chakras

During these trying times, there are a lot of people who are suffering from isolation, financial instability, fear for their health and fear for the future. A stressful life or environment can create blockages in the energy flow inside your body that can result in anxiety, depression, and a whole range of mental health disorders.
Balancing your chakras can help restore the proper flow of energies in your system, thereby reducing mental and emotional issues.
The word “chakra” comes from the Sanskrit word for “wheel.” There are seven wheels of energy that run from the base of the spine to the crown o the head. These chakras are the gatekeepers of the respective areas of our body and when they are open, we can focus our life energy to heal and recover from trauma.    

Root Chakra: Muladhara

The root chakra is situated at the base of the spine and is the seat of Kundalini or the life force or in Taoism, the origin of the three principal meridians. Our root chakra governs feelings of strength, safety and commitment and makes us feel grounded.
To balance this chakra, you need to connect to the earth. A good meditation exercise is to stand bare feet on earth and feel yourself grounding down. This can help you find your center and become balanced once again.

Sacral Chakra: Swadhishthana

The sacral chakra is situated in the lower abdomen and is associated with sexual energy but also connecting with each and other and accepting change.
For meditation, you can use the help of crystals and visualizations. To clear away the blocks, you need to visualize cutting away the cords that connect them to your chakra. Once the cords are severed, you can use a carnelian crystal to balance your chakra.
Hold the orange crystal in your hand, close your eyes, and take three deep breaths. Make positive assertions aloud about clearing negative energy form your body. Lie down on the floor and place the crystal on your chakra, visualizing its healing orange light spreading through your body.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura

The third chakra is located in the hollow area between your ribs and navel and governs your personality, creativity, intuitiveness, and self -confidence.
For the solar plexus chakra meditation, sit down, preferably in open air, and practice some deep belly breathing. Once you have tuned your breaths and body together, visualize yourself going through your day with ease. If you are outside, get some sunlight and picture the light penetrating through your body.

Heart Chakra: Anahata

The fourth chakra is located on the center of your chest and is related to your emotions. This chakra is extremely important since it is also considered as the gateway to the soul.
Yoga is a great meditation technique to bring your heart chakra into balance. Some poses that you should include in your exercise are shoulder flossing, full wheel, and warrior 2. Practice these with a flowing rhythm and finish your exercise by meditating on everything you feel grateful for.

Throat Chakra: Vishuddha

If the throat chakra is blocked, it means you are unable to express yourself and speak the truth.
Meditation exercises for throat chakra should be done with the assistance of crystal allies and essential oils. Place crystals like turquoise, blue lace agate, and calcite, in your left hand to receive their energy during meditation. You can also lie down and place the crystal on the base of your throat.
Some essential oils that honor the throat are chamomile, hyssop, rosemary, lavender, and frankincense.

Third-Eye Chakra: Ajna

The third eye provides perception beyond ordinary sight and is related to higher consciousness. 
Mindful meditation can help you open up your third eye and decrease your fear. You can help increase your intuition and faith in yourself by practicing self-reflection like “what do I want to happen?” Asking simple questions like this can help this energy wheel thrive.

Crown Chakra: Sahasrara

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head and is related to pure consciousness, wisdom, and enlightenment, and the source from which all other chakras form.
To balance this chakra, you will first need to balance all the other six chakras. Some meditation exercises to do that include:

  • Sitting cross-legged on the floor with your spine erect.
  • To support the seventh chakra, align your core to the ground and lifting your head up to the heavens. This keeps you grounded and centered.
  • Visualize yourself breathing light up your core and then breathing it down.
  • Visualize opening your chakra like the thousand-petaled lotus flower and drink in the energy of its grace and consciousness. Pull the energy down into your core, make your mind empty and fill your body with light.
  • Take your time when you feel you are ready to come out of your meditation. Don’t immediately disconnect but do it slowly and smoothly so that you can maintain your serene and radiant state as you return to the normal world.

Although there is no single cure for all people who suffer from mental illnesses, anything is possible when you open your mind to alternative solutions. Chakra meditation is one of the most accessible alternative treatments for psychological and physiological changes and has been shown to be effective when done with modern treatment methods and modalities.
If you suffer from mental health disorders, seek help from Paradise Valley Healing Center. We offer residential treatment as well as online therapy sessions to help you cope with mental and emotional imbalances through a multi-disciplinary approach.